The Wrong Side of the Perch

I was going about my usual morning routine of changing out the bird’s food bowls and filling them with fresh seed this morning.  The weather today is damp and foggy, and as I myself am not in the best frame of mind, it should have occurred to me that they would be somewhat “off” as well.  Birds do pick up on our moods.  Well, the thought never crossed my mind.  As a result of my not picking up on cues, Hari, our military macaw, chomped down on my thumb hard.  Hard enough to draw blood.  Wasn’t the first time I’ve misread them, and I doubt it will be the last.  I just hope the sun appears later on today.  It’s going to be a long day, otherwise.

Leave a Reply

