The Mysteries of Shelter Dogs

I have to wonder what Sophie’s previous life was like before I adopted her. Stephen brought home a bathroom mirror tonight and rested it on the floor in the bathroom. Shortly after dinner, I noticed her acting odd, (well, weirder than usual) and giving the bathroom a wide berth as she walked down the hallway. I went in, and she would not follow me as she usually does. Coaxed her in and realized that this dog has never seen herself in a mirror and was terrified that there was another dog in the house. We put the mirror away but she spent the next five minutes looking for the other dog. Pretty damn sad considering she is six and a half years old. I love this dog!

20130111-212214.jpg

Leave a Reply

